26
Feb
08

Oscar 2008 – Part 3 Hair The Good, the Bad and the Ugly

If you go by the hair trends shown at the 80th Oscars, I’d say a revival of the hairdos of 1940s & 50s is coming. Curls are in. We’ve moved away, almost in totality, from straight hair. Curls either in a chin/neck bob length or a side parted longer wavy Veronica Lake look were all the rage. These hair styles are the ones that caught my eye.

As I did with dresses, I breakdown my views on which hairdos I thought were good and which were bad and ugly.

Good

I adored Katherine Heigl, Julie Christi, Keisha Whitaker and Amy Adams’ hair. I’ve always been a fan of the look from the 40s and 50s and I think these styles look fresh.

Updos
Updos that have all the hairs in place or with hairs all over the place were a nice as well. I felt Heidi Klum’s updo was stunning. While Jennifer Gardner’s updo with loose pieces framing her face was beautiful in a more casual way then Heidi.

Hair Accessory

I thought Kristin Chenoweth hair accessory was attractive. As a woman with a lot of hair, I’m always looking for eye-catching hair accessories.

Hair Color

Ruby Dee’s Oscar look proved L’Oreal wrong. You don’t need all over hair color to look your best. I found her hair stunning. She proves that an older dog can teach a younger dog new tricks 😉 When I go greyer, I’m totally gonna try this look.

Bad

I Hated Calista Flockhart’s hair even Harrison Ford (her date) was looking at her hair with a face that said “WTH!”….LOL

7 Responses to “Oscar 2008 – Part 3 Hair The Good, the Bad and the Ugly”


  1. February 26, 2008 at 12:31 pm

    While I usually agree with you on your choices, this time I have to disagree with you on Heidi and Jennifer.

    Heidi’s hair to me looked very dated and like she had too many hair pieces used for filler. And I just wanted to tuck Jennifer’s hair behind her ears so we could see her face. Both these ladies are so beautiful. I just wasn’t feelin’ the hair this go round.

    I agree with all you other opinions. 😀

  2. February 26, 2008 at 12:32 pm

    Oh yeah, did Harrison do Calista’s hair? What’s with that mess?

  3. 3 agirlgottaeat
    February 27, 2008 at 4:48 am

    That’s ok Sensei. We can agree to disagree 😉 I wasn’t loving Katherine’s Makeup but I liked her hair. I need to review the Oscar Makeup next. There were some goodies and some real badies….ewwww

  4. March 2, 2008 at 4:40 pm

    Kristen Chenoweth has it right! I think hair ornaments can make a subtle and elegant statement; there’s a reason women have been adorning their hair from the start. I’ve found some sensational headbands and other hair ornaments at http://www.andreasbeau.com. What’s exceptional about them is their gorgeous and unusual trims and fabrics, particularly in their headband collection.

  5. 5 jen
    September 25, 2008 at 5:48 pm

    Her collection is beautiful. I saw on hautelook.com that they are having a sample sale for her today and tomorrow. I can’t wait to get my jewelry! I love this site. They have the best deals.

  6. 6 Melody
    February 2, 2009 at 9:43 pm

    Luv the pics!!! soooo origonal

  7. September 6, 2009 at 2:15 pm

    I love these hair styles.


Leave a Reply

Technorati

Add to Technorati Favorites

Bookmarking

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

Links to Click

Independent Fashion Blogger

Blog Stats

  • 345,470 hits

